Joseph F. Carrabino

In an effort to recognize current, or former, federal partners who work diligently to foster and maintain government-university relationships, NCURA annually recognizes a federal employee who has made a significant contribution to research administration – either through a single project, activity, or innovation, or a lifetime of service – with the esteemed Joseph F. Carrabino Award.

Who Was Joseph F. Carrabino?

A grants officer at the National Science Foundation, Joseph Carrabino passed away in December of 1989, shortly after retiring. Throughout his career, he was a mentor and friend to many university research administrators as he worked to improve the government-university partnership.

Joe’s career and contributions embody the ideal of this award. As a result, it is an honor for NCURA to recognize the contributions of its federal partners, who, like Joe, positively impact research administration and the government-university partnership.

NCURA’s Nominating and Leadership Development Committee (NLDC) invites nominations for this award. Eligible nominees are current, or former, federal employees who have made a significant contribution to research administration, either through a single project, activity, or innovation, or by a lifetime of service.

The recipient of the award will be honored publicly at the upcoming NCURA Annual Meeting and will receive a plaque in recognition of his or her contribution to university research administration.

Submission materials for this award include:

  • A letter of nomination describing the nominee’s contribution to university research administration;
  • Two letters of support from individuals familiar with the nominee’s contributions to research administration; and
  • At least two of the three letters in the application packet (the nomination letter and the letters of support), must be written by NCURA members.

All nominations and supporting materials from the nominees must be sent electronically to awards@ncura.edu on or before April 14, 2020.


2019 Recipient

Rochelle Ray, National Science Foundation

2018 Recipient

Cynthia Dwyer, National Institutes of Health

2017 Recipient

Michelle Bulls, National Institutes of Health

2016 Recipient

Dr. Patricia Watts, Federal Aviation Administration

2015 Recipient

Gilbert Tran, Office of Management and Budget

2014 Recipient

Evelyn Baisey-Thomas, National Science Foundation, Emeritus

2013 Recipient

Sally Rockey, National Institutes of Health

2012 Recipient

Mary Santonastasso, National Science Foundation

2011 Recipient

Mark Herbst, Department of Defense

2010 Recipient

Joe Ellis, National Institutes of Health

2009 Recipient

Marcia Hahn, National Institutes of Health

2008 Recipient

Joanna Rom, National Science Foundation

2007 Recipient

Debbie Rafi, Office of Naval Research

2006 Recipient

Thomas Cooley, National Science Foundation

2005 Recipient

Geoff Grant, National Science Foundation

2004 Recipient

Chuck Paoletti, Office of Naval Research

2003 Recipient

Jean Feldman, National Science Foundation




National Council of University
Research Administrators

1015 18th Street, NW, Suite 901
Washington, DC 20036

Phone: 202.466.3894
Fax: 202.223.5573
Email: info@ncura.edu

Career Center