NCURA Julia Jacobsen Distinguished Service Award

As a Washington, DC local committed to the field of research administration, Julia Jacobsen played a paramount role in expanding the efforts of NCURA. Not only was she influential in bringing government speakers to the annual meetings, but when it came time for NCURA to establish an office in DC, Julia opened her home to the association. After she was elected as Secretary-Treasurer in 1974, she advocated for increased professional development opportunities and was instrumental in defining what would become NCURA’s Regions. In honor of the dedicated service to NCURA that Julia exemplified, the Distinguished Service Award was renamed the NCURA Julia Jacobsen Distinguished Service Award in 2013. 

At each Annual Meeting, NCURA recognizes up to five members who have made sustained and distinctive contributions to the organization with its Julia Jacobsen Distinguished Service Award.

The Nominating and Leadership Development Committee (NLDC) invites nominations for this award. Nominees for NCURA’s Julia Jacobsen Distinguished Service Award must 1) be current or past members, and 2) have made significant contributions to NCURA. Please note, current National officers (President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer) and NCURA Standing Committee (FMC, NLDC and PDC) Chairs and Vice Chairs are ineligible for nomination for a Julia Jacobsen Distinguished Service Award.

Submission materials for this award are:

  • A letter of nomination (300-400 words) written by someone with personal knowledge of the nominee that states why the individual should be considered for this honor and confirms that the nominee will be available to personally accept the award at the upcoming Annual Meeting.
  • Up to three letters of support from NCURA members that comment on this person’s contribution to NCURA.

To re-nominate a previous candidate, please submit a revised letter of nomination and supply copies of past, revised, or new letters of support.

All nominations and supporting materials from the nominees must be sent electronically to awards@ncura.edu on or before April 14, 2020.

Inquiries regarding the award may be directed to Kathleen Larmett at (202) 466-3894.


2019 Distinguished Service Award Recipients

  • John Hanold, The Pennsylvania State University
  • Dennis Paffrath, University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Shannon Sutton, Western Illinois University
  • Ara Tahmassian, Harvard University
  • Susan Zipkin, University of New Hampshire

2018 Distinguished Service Award Recipients

  • Bruce Morgan, University of California, Irvine
  • Mario Medina, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
  • Robyn Remotigue, University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth
  • Twila Reighley, Michigan State University
  • Suzanne Rivera, Case Western Reserve University

2017 Distinguished Service Award Recipients

  • Jilda Garton, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Agatha Keller, ETH Zurich / Univeristy of Zurich
  • Vicki Krell, Arizona State University
  • Rosemary Madnick, University of Alaska- Fairbanks

2016 Distinguished Service Award Recipients

  • Glenda Bullock, Washington University in St. Louis
  • Kris Monahan, Providence College
  • Denise Moody, Harvard University
  • Craig Reynolds, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
  • Samantha Westcott, California Institute of Technology

2015 Distinguished Service Award Recipients

  • Brenda Kavanaugh, University of Rochester
  • Marjorie Forster, University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Thomas E. Wilson, Rush University Medical Center

2014 Distinguished Service Award Recipients

  • Cindy Hope, The University of Alabama
  • Toni Lawson, University of Maryland College Park
  • Dan Nordquist, Washington State University
  • Timothy Reuter, Stanford University
  • Cathy Snyder, Vanderbilt University

2013 Distinguished Service Award Recipients

  • Judy Fredenberg, University of Montana
  • Barbara Gray, East Carolina University
  • Stephen Hansen, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
  • Norm Hebert, Brown University
  • David Richardson, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champagin

2012 Distinguished Service Award Recipients

  • Michele Codd, George Washington University
  • Barbara Cole, University of Miami
  • Francois Lemire, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
  • Susan Sedwick, The Universityy of Texas at Austin
  • Michelle Vazin, Vanderbilt University

2011 Distinguished Service Award Recipients

  • Patrick Green, Vanderbilt University
  • F. Edward Herran, Purchase College, SUNY
  • Heather Offhaus, University of Michigan
  • Kerry Peluso, Emory University
  • Beth Seaton, Western Illinois University

2010 Distinguished Service Award Recipients

  • Denise J. Clark, University of Maryland College Park
  • Patrick Fitzgerald, Harvard University
  • Vivian Holmes, Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard
  • Jane Youngers, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

2009 Distinguished Service Award Recipients

  • James Casey, Jr., University of Texas at San Antonio
  • David Mayo, California Institute of Technology
  • Georgette Sakumoto, University of Hawaii
  • Pamela Webb, University of Minnesota
  • Pamela Whitlock, University of North Carolina at Wilmington

2008 Distinguished Service Award Recipients

  • Vincent "Bo" Bogdanski, Colorado State University
  • F. John Case, University of Akron
  • Allen Soltow, University of Tulsa
  • Laura Wade, University of Houston - Texas Center for Superconductivity
  • Denise Wallen, University of New Mexico

2007 Distinguished Service Award Recipients

  • Jo Barnes, Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville
  • Jamie Caldwell, Loyola University of Chicago
  • John Carfora, Amherst College
  • Jerry Fife, Vanderbilt University
  • Ann Holmes, University of Maryland, College Park

2006 Distinguished Service Award Recipients

  • Jan Fox, Texas Christian University
  • Patricia Hawk, Oregon State University
  • Robert Killoren, The Ohio State University
  • Peggy Lowry, Oregon State University
  • Cynthia White, Washington University

2005 Distinguished Service Award Recipients

  • Marti Dunne, New York University
  • Dick Keogh, Info Ed International, Inc.
  • Gunta Liders, University of Rochester
  • Garry Sanders, ORDWAY Research Institute, Inc.
  • Mary Ellen Sheridan, University of Chicago

2004 Distinguished Service Award Recipients

  • Thomas Coggins, University of South Carolina
  • Milton Cole, Villanova University
  • Stephen Erickson, Boston College
  • Cheryl-Lee Howard, The John Hopkins University
  • Regina White, Brown University

2003 Distinguished Service Award Recipients

  • Alice Tangredi-Hannon, University of Pennsylvania

2002 Distinguished Service Award Recipients

  • Christina Hansen, University of California-Irvine
  • Kim Moreland, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Marianne Rinaldo Woods, University of Alabama
  • Andrew Rudczynski, University of Pennsylvania
  • Steven Smartt, Vanderbilt University




National Council of University
Research Administrators

1015 18th Street, NW, Suite 901
Washington, DC 20036

Phone: 202.466.3894
Fax: 202.223.5573
Email: info@ncura.edu

Career Center