A Personal Welcome

Dear Colleagues:

Your AM61 Program Committee has been busy finalizing the program, Building Towards the Future…together, August 4-7, 2019 at the Washington Hilton. This meeting will provide the opportunity to reconnect with your colleagues and enhance and expand your NCURA network. We have assembled a myriad of exciting offerings that will increase your knowledge, enhance your skills and work effectiveness, and also expand your potential career options.

The conference will offer a plethora of concurrent sessions, discussion groups, forums, high-energy Ignite sessions and a Poster Session to showcase cutting-edge research and programs that impact research administration/management. All of our presenters are premiere subject matter experts from around the globe. The US federal agencies will also be offering sessions on the most up-to-date opportunities, policies and procedures. Topical area certificate programs will be available and sessions will run the gamut of varying levels of expertise from the new to senior administrator.

This year we have many special events – starting on Sunday evening hop on a bus, and join us to explore the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian. The Museum cares for one of the world’s most expansive collections of Native American objects, photographs, and media, covering the entire Western Hemisphere from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego. The museum’s sweeping curvilinear architecture, its indigenous landscaping, and its exhibitions, all designed in collaboration with tribes and communities, combine to give visitors from around the world the sense and spirit of Native America. We will be welcomed with delicious food and amazing exhibits.

Our Monday morning Keynote, Dr. Freeman Alphonsa Hrabowski III, President of the University of Maryland, Baltimore County is a prominent African American educator, advocate, and mathematician. He has been called one of America's Best Leaders, one of the 100 Most Influential People in the World, and one of America's 10 Best College Presidents. Our Tuesday night fete will be a Carnevale theme replete with music, dance, festive vibe and food.

This meeting is the result of the commitment, enthusiasm and hard work of many people including the program committee, NCURA staff, presenters and volunteers. On behalf of all we want to extend our thanks for making the time to join us at AM61!

We are confident that this meeting will meet your needs and expectations. We welcome you back to the Washington Hilton and very much look forward to seeing you!

Join us in Building Towards the Future…together.

Denise, Michelle and David

Chair and NCURA Vice President
Denise Wallen, University of New Mexico
Michelle Vazin, Vanderbilt University
David Mayo, California Institute of Technology
Program Committee
Clinical Research: Ben Prince, University of Massachusetts Medical School
ComplianceDenise Moody, Harvard University
Carrie Chesbro, University of Oregon
Data Management/Use/Impact:  Alexandra Albinak, Johns Hopkins University
Kat Szulc, Kuali
Departmental:  Tanya Blackwell, Children's Healthcare at Atlanta
Glenda Bullock, Washington University in St. Louis
Executive Level: Dave Richardson, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Zachary Belton, Huron
Federal: Jean Feldman, National Science Foundation
Pamela Webb, University of Minnesota
Federal and Industry Contracting:  John Hanold, Pennsylvania State University
Global for U.S. and Non-U.S. Participants: Ara Tahmassian, Harvard University
Agatha Keller, ETH Zurich, University of Zurich
New Research Administrator: Katherine Kissmann, Texas A&M University
Pre-Award: Dennis Paffrath, University of Maryland
Amanda Snyder, University of Washington
Post-Award: Bob Andresen, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Diane Domanovics, Case Western Reserve University
Predominately Undergraduate Institutions: Laneika Musalini, Tri-County Technical College
Jeff Ritchie, Hamilton College
Professional Development: Tolise Dailey, Johns Hopkins University
Jillian McIntosh, University of Pennsylvania
Workshops: Vicki Krell, Arizona State University
Michiko Pane, Stanford University
New Presenter Liaison: Rosemary Madnick, University of Alaska Fairbanks