Outstanding Achievement in Research Administration

Outstanding Achievement in Research Administration

Each year, NCURA recognizes one individual at the Annual Meeting who has made significant contributions to the profession of Research Administration and has demonstrated noteworthy service to NCURA by presenting its Award for Outstanding Achievement in Research Administration.

NCURA’s Nominating and Leadership Development Committee (NLDC) invites nominations for this prestigious award. Individuals considered for this recognition must be current or past NCURA members and have made 1) noteworthy contributions to NCURA, and 2) significant contributions to the profession of Research Administration, as evidenced in ways such as publications, presentations, teaching, mentoring, and service to one’s home institution/organization or outside organizations. Please note, current National officers (President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer) and NCURA Standing Committee (FMC, NLDC and PDC) Chairs and Vice Chairs are ineligible for nomination for an Outstanding Achievement in Research Administration Award.

The submission materials include:

  • A letter of nomination (300-400 words) written by someone with personal knowledge of the nominee that states why the individual should be considered for this honor and confirms that the nominee will be available to personally accept the award at the upcoming Annual Meeting;
  • A letter of support from the nominee’s institution/organization that comments on this person’s role in research administration;
  • Up to three letters of support from NCURA members that comment on this person’s role in research administration; and
  • An abbreviated resume of the nominee summarizing educational background and professional service.
  • To re-nominate a previous candidate, please submit a revised letter of nomination and supply copies of past, revised, or new letters of support.

Inquiries regarding the award may be directed to Kathleen Larmett at (202) 466-3894.

All nominations and supporting materials from the nominees must be sent electronically to awards@ncura.edu on or before April 14, 2020.

The award is NCURA’s highest honor and is presented during the Annual Meeting. First awarded in 1994, there have been twenty-six recipients:

  • Dan Nordquist, Washington State University - 2019
  • Denise Clark, University of Maryland, College Park - 2018
  • David Richardson, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign - 2017
  • Pamela Webb, University of Minnesota - 2016
  • Pamela Whitlock, University of North Carolina at Wilmington (Emeritus) - 2015
  • Jamie Caldwell, Loyola University Chicago - 2014
  • Gunta Liders, University of Rochester – 2013
  • David J. Mayo, California Institute of Technology – 2012
  • Peggy Lowry, Oregon State University (Emeritus) – 2011
  • Jerry Fife, Vanderbilt University – 2010
  • Marianne Rinaldo Woods, University of Texas at San Antonio – 2009
  • Cheryl-Lee Howard, The Johns Hopkins University – 2008
  • Robert Killoren, Jr., The Ohio State University – 2007
  • Mary Ellen Sheridan, University of Chicago – 2006
  • Stephen Hansen, Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville – 2005
  • Kim Moreland, University of Wisconsin-Madison – 2004
  • Ada Sue Selwitz, University of Kentucky – 2003
  • Jane Youngers, University of Texas Health Science Center – 2002
  • Mareda Weiss, University of Wisconsin-Madison – 2001
  • Richard Seligman, California Institute of Technology – 2000
  • Ardis Savory, University of South Carolina (Emeritus) – 1999
  • Eric Rude, University of Wisconsin (Emeritus) – 1998
  • George Dummer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology – 1997
  • Dennis Barnes, Southeastern Universities – 1996
  • Tony Merritt, University of Pennsylvania – 1995
  • Julie Norris, Massachusetts Institute of Technology – 1994




National Council of University
Research Administrators

1015 18th Street, NW, Suite 901
Washington, DC 20036

Phone: 202.466.3894
Fax: 202.223.5573
Email: info@ncura.edu

Career Center